Colorado Identity Theft Laws

Here is some basic information about Colorado state identity theft laws and some contact information for your local agencies to get help. Please contact the proper officials if you’d like to get help from your local Colorado agency or you can email us and we can try to put you in touch with a local attorney to guide through the process of helping you reclaim your identity. Please note that we only refer your information to an attorney and we are not directly involved with the process in any way.

Here at we want to make sure you have all the necessary information to guide you through the identity theft protection process.

A Mandatory Reporting State

Identity Theft laws in Colorado

Credit Freeze Law in Colorado

    • Freeze Law – SB 05-137
        • Effective date: July 1, 2006
        • Applies to all consumers
        • Fees: No fee for first freeze; $10 to place a second freeze, $10 to lift, $12
        • for temporarily lift for one creditor
        • Place the freeze over the phone
            • Equifax – 800-685-1111
            • Experian – 888-397-3742
            • TransUnion – 800-680-7289

Contacts in Colorado

    • 1525 Sherman Street, Denver, CO 80203
    • Phone: (303) 866-4500

Legal Assistance Colorado

    • VICARS
    • Phone: (888) 343-4414

Other Resources

  • Equifax

P.O. Box 740241, Atlanta, GA 30374-0241
Phone: (800) 525-6285

  • Experian

P.O. Box 9701, Allen, TX 75013-0949
Phone: (888) 397-3742

  • TransUnion

P.O. Box 6790, Fullerton, CA 92834
Phone: (800) 680-7289

  • FTC

The FTC also provides helpful information regarding limiting unwanted calls and emails; computer security; kid’s online safety; protecting your identity; and repairing identity theft.

  • Annual Free Credit Report
Annual Credit Report Request Service, P.O. Box 105281, Atlanta, GA 30348-5281

  • National Conference of State Legislatures